top of page
  • Writer's pictureEric

New Worlds #3 - All the Trimmings

Sept 6th, 2020

I talked last time about things to think about BEFORE you start writing or creating a new world or story. Now I would like to talk a little more some different methods of accomplishing these goals. There are any number of writers out there who have their own ways of getting their stories out, google literally anyone with a #1 Bestseller and likely someone will have asked them how they did it. Sometimes they even answer.

A long while back I read Stephen King's On Writing, basically a sort of pseudo memoir about how he started writing and some great anecdotes on his life coming up in the writing world. I lost that copy long ago and forgotten most of it as well. But there was one thing that stood out that I still adhere to every time I write anything: Once your first draft is done, cut 10% of it. One out of every ten words needs to go because you can do it better. Here, he says it better than I can:

***

In the spring of my senior year at Lisbon High—1966, this would have been—I got a scribbled comment that changed the way I rewrote my fiction once and forever. Jotted below the machine-generated signature of the editor was this mot: "Not bad, but PUFFY. You need to revise for length. Formula: 2nd Draft = 1st Draft – 10%. Good luck."

I wish I could remember who wrote that note—Algis Budrys, perhaps. Whoever it was did me a hell of a favor. I copied the formula out on a piece of shirt-cardboard and taped it to the wall beside my typewriter. Good things started to happen for me shortly thereafter. - Stephen King, On Writing (footnote #1)

***

I have never found anything truer than that quote. I have absolutely written some things I loved, left them for a few days, then came back to reread and self-edit only to find I had clusters of unnecessary and frankly useless words. So, I cut, I rewrite, and I let it sit longer until nothing glaring jumps out at me anymore. Then I show someone else and see if it makes any sense.

Often that 10% consists mainly of passive voice and outright superfluous words. I have caught myself trying to use "Definitely Maybe" as if those words are ever useful in that combination. The names I have called myself in my own head would make some of you blush I'm sure. Not that I consider that particularly healthy, but it is honest.

I consider this first edit goal of 10% less words to be my primary fight as I move through the drafts of whatever I work on. The second goal is to make sure I take out the following words entirely: not and any permutation thereof - don't, can't, etc. Except for some dialogue spoken by characters, the word ‘not’ is near universally unnecessary to get your point across, at least in a non-conversational sense. Avoid telling people what something is not and tell them what it is.

***

After you carve your creation down into a second draft format, the next step is to choose one person you trust to look over what you've created and let you know whether or not it makes any sense at all. This brings us to another of Stephen King's quotes I like very much; in all honesty I had forgotten it until doing the legwork for this article. And just for laughs, I seem to have misplaced the link. But it went a little something like this:

"Write with the door closed. Edit with the door open."

Once you are done creating and you have a decent idea what you want to carve that creation into, that is the moment you let others in to see your creation. This process varies depending on what medium you are employing. If you are an artist that works with Acrylic paint, people can see your work when it is complete, but there's not a lot of room for editing at that point. Is there? I really have no idea about painting, but I assume its kind of done when its done.

If you are a writer, especially now, it is as easy as passing out a copy or two of your work. You can print it, email it, put it on a USB and throw it to a stranger outside your window. Though, make sure you add a return address or email on or in the USB stick somewhere... Otherwise that's just a waste of money.

Still the point here is that it has become time for other eyes to see your work. Not too many eyes though, letting a work of creation loose at this point can have some unwelcome effects. Eyes aren't really the problem here though, opinions are.

You can probably find people who will only correct spelling and grammar, maybe catch some passive voice you missed, but we all know what you really want; you want someone to LOVE IT. And I find that this rarely happens this early in the process and with such a small sample of people. The danger here is the opinions of those who count. If they don't like it, will you keep going? Or will you just stop working on it and let that sliver of insecurity we all have about our creations slide into that cold part of your brain, the part that constantly whispers your ideas aren't good enough. That’s a bit too dark, let's move on.

***

Now as is my focus, as a Storyteller or Dungeon Master or Designated Talky Human, the creation of your story to be used at the table is a bit different. Yes, you can structure it like any number of things, like a novel or a script; both easy to hand out to people. But the problem here is that the people you want to get the opinion of are the same people you are going to be telling the story to.

Those players do not want the whole adventure spoiled just so you can have some feedback. Sure, you can ask subtle questions and pay close attention to the things your players say, but really with all creations, you want people to love it and revel in your creation. That's just art for you, if you spent all day making things you knew people would hate, would you really be pushing any boundaries? Would you really be presenting the best you have?

This is another time our current world can come in handy. With all the forums and comment sections on the internet, there are dozens if not hundreds of places you can present your creation for some feedback. And in some ways better feedback because these people will not care one bit about your feelings and can give you some brutal honesty. And with them being strangers you can easily decide whether to listen to them at all.

The unfortunate side of this form of feedback is ALSO that people will not care about your feelings. And some people out there are unmitigated assholes. Thus, it still carries a caveat and a need for you to remain confident in your story.

***

Once you have your editors chosen, those few whose opinions are either ones you trust or ones you can't ignore, that is the time to take what you have learned and use it to polish that story into something better. Something you liked into something you loved.

But as many writers will tell you, the editing process never truly ends. I've come across my own writings from long ago that at the time I thought were decent, I could even say I loved them. But when I looked at them after years of not, there were lots of things I wanted to change.

I wish I could tell you the process of editing your creation was an easy one, but it just isn't, so find out what works for you. Good luck.

If you remember nothing else from all of this, remember these words from Marion Roach Smith:

"The most basic rule of editing is that if you can't bear to read it, no one else can either. So when you find yourself skimming, commit murder."

Now I assume the context is murdering words, so no one follow that quote literally.

Eric

Footnote #1

Most of the following links deal more directly with editing a novel but provide some good thoughts on any sort of creative medium, so follow these links with what you want in mind.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

New Worlds #7 - Developing an Idea

Oct 14th, 2020 I took a short break over the last two weeks, but I am back now. I will be lowering the frequency of my articles as one every two days was always going to be unsustainable. Now that I h

New Worlds #6 - Counting Your Words

Sept 24th, 2020 Word Count is a double-edged sword. Maybe triple-edged. Alright its kind of like a bundle of creative daggers ready to mess with your idea every way it can. But it seems so simple righ

New Worlds #5 - Writers' Crutches and Words to Avoid

Sept 24th, 2020 I briefly thought of titling this article 'Writer's Crutches and Other Things We All Do That Are Normal and Also Bad' but I figured it was too wordy. I added it here because I thought

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page